This team sport is said to have originated in United Kingdom and is especially popular in the Commonwealth countries. The International Cricket Council or the ICC is the governing body of the sport. The game is played between two competing teams of eleven players on each side. The game starts with a toss between the captains of the 2 participating teams. The captain winning the toss choses to bat or bowl. The team batting first will try to score runs while the fielding team tries to restrict the runs being scored and in the mean time finish batting team’s innings by taking all the ten wickets. When the first inning is over, the two teams switch their positions. In the end the team scoring more runs will be declared as the winner.

The game has 3 major versions: