The official date of the foundation of the state of Hungary is the year 1000 when the first King, St. Stephen was crowned king. After Croatia was linked to Hungary in the 11th century, the Kingdom of Hungary came to mean the 325 111 square kilometers. The freedom of this territory ended parially in the 16th century when the Turkish Empire occupied the middle of the country and the Austrian Habsburgs the western part. Only the eastern part, Transylvania remained independent, those 100 000 square kilometers, which were attached to Romania after World War I. As a result of deafeat in World War I, the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy was dismembered. The so called Treaty of Trianon (Versailles) signed in 1920 by the victorious powers, drew the new borders. Hungary's territory decreased from 325 11 km2 to 93 000 km2, and its population from 20,9 millions to 7,6 millions. Hungarian foreign policy was directed towards recovery of the lost territories. The German alliance required for territorial revision seemed to bear fruit. The Germans however forced Hungary into their war. Hungary fell under communist rule following World War II. In 1956 a revolution against communism and announced withdrawal form the Warsaw Pact were met with a massive military intervention by Moscow. As a result, 2,500 people died, the number of wounded was about 20 000, approximately 200 000 left the country, 15 000 people were arrested with the help of the Soviet advisors, and 229 were executed. The first multiparty elections were held in 1990 and initiated a free market economy. The country joined NATO in 1999 and the European Union in 2004.

Further Information

Related websites

Surface Area: 93,030 square km
Population: 10,032,375 (July 2004 est.)
Located in: Central Europe
Capital City: Budapest
Head of State: László SÓLYOM
Prime Minister: Ferenc GYURCSÁNY
Independent since: 1001 (unification by King Stephen I)
Currency: Forint (HUF)
Flag (image):