The islands were part of the UK's Jamaican colony until 1962, when they assumed the status of a separate crown colony upon Jamaica's independence. The governor of The Bahamas oversaw affairs from 1965 to 1973. With Bahamian independence, the islands received a separate governor in 1973. Although independence was agreed upon for 1982, the policy was reversed and the islands remain a British overseas territory.

Further Information

Related websites

Surface Area: 430 square km
Population: 19,956 (July 2004 est.)
Located in: Central America (Caribbean)
Capital City: Grand Turk (Cockburn Town)
Head of State: Queen ELIZABETH II, represented by Governor Jim POSTON
Prime Minister: Michael Eugene MISICK
Independent since: none (overseas territory of the UK)
Currency: US dollar (USD)
Flag (image):