The Cayman Islands were colonized from Jamaica by the British during the 18th and 19th centuries. Administered by Jamaica since 1863, they remained a British dependency after 1962 when the former became independent.

Further Information

Related websites

Surface Area: 262 square km
Population: 43,103 (July 2004 est.)
Located in: Central America (Caribbean)
Capital City: George Town
Head of State: Queen ELIZABETH II, Governor Bruce DINWIDDY
Prime Minister: W. McKeeva BUSH
Independent since: none (overseas territory of the UK)
Currency: Caymanian dollar (KYD)
Flag (image):